theworldthatihavecreated

Music, art, literature, and nature…

My Lemon After a Year

When I starting gardening, lemon is one of the earliest plants I’ve started planting. I’ve came across an article on the Internet about starting lemon on paper towels. I’ve tried it with lemon, china aster, and marigold. But among the three the only one that germinated is lemon. There were actually more than 10 seeds and all of them had germinated. After one week I’ve chosen 5 and planted them to small plastic pots.

The early stages of my lemon were really difficult. It was May and still summer, so it was really hot. I’ve tried leaving the seedlings under the sun about three weeks after I’ve transferred them to pots. But unfortunately many of them withered and die. That was a big mistake of mine. Well, I was just starting, so I was still at the trial and error stage. The only lemon that did not die is the lemon that did not have leaves yet. After a couple of weeks when the lemon sprouted leaves, I left it under the shade until it can withstand the heat under the sun.

This is my lemon plant sometime in June or July.

This is my lemon plant sometime in June or July.

When August came, I encountered another problem. In May it was the heat, then in August it was the heavy rain. I had problems with my celosia and other smaller plants that started sprouting. Fortunately, I did not encounter problems with my lemon. It actually loved the rain, but I also had to keep it under the shade when it was pouring cats and dogs.

My lemon in August... it had bigger leaves and growing healthily ^^

My lemon in August… it had bigger leaves and growing healthily ^^

I’ve also read an article that citrus plants need slightly acidic soil, and to do that I should put a mixture of vinegar and water on the soil. Because of that my lemon had bigger leaves. ^^

Aside from the weather, another problem that gardeners encounter is pests. With regards to my lemon, it’s the lemon swallowtail butterfly that laid eggs on my lemon. But I love butterflies, so I do not have the heart to kill the small caterpillars. That’s why I had to transfer them to our calamansi plant. >.< Although only one of them had managed to survive and became a butterfly since they are eaten my birds. Too bad I did not saw it when it came out of its cocoon. But my father saw it maybe after it came out because he said it did not move even after he came near it. It still cannot fly…

When my lemon got bigger and had more leaves I’ve left one swallowtail caterpillar on my lemon. It had just eaten less than 10 leaves before it cocooned itself. Although most of them are younger leaves (it prefers the young ones over the old ones probably because the older leaves are harder to chew, according to my brother… ^^). After two weeks the caterpillar became a butterfly. I did not see it came out of the cocoon again… too bad. And I even forgot taking pictures!!!! T.T

This is the part of my lemon where the caterpillar stayed. To compensate for the eaten leaves, more leaves have sprouted!!!

This is the part of my lemon where the caterpillar stayed. To compensate for the eaten leaves, more leaves have sprouted!!!

Although most of the young leaves where already eaten by smaller caterpillars. They are giving me headaches. Can’t they just wait for it to become bigger? Bigger leaves means more food right? Wahahaha… But anyway, I just transferred them to the other parts of the lemon or to our calamansi plant. And I no longer see the bigger caterpillars this morning, probably they are already eaten by the birds or blown by the wind.

My lemon after a year >.<

My lemon after a year >.<

My lemon is already taller than me… ^^ Probably I prune it sometime in the future, when it already has more leaves!!! Just to mention, my youngest brother still doesn’t believe that my lemon is from a seed. How about you do you believe it? >.<

Leave a Reply

Poypoy Stardoom

Guhit+Litrato+Sulat+Kung Anik-Anik

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Attenti al Lupo

www.attentiallupo2012.com

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author Thelma Cunningham

Just another WordPress.com weblog

PurpleBooky

Reviews & Links about BOOKS...

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

zonesknight95

JUst a guy pouring out his thoughts in his spare time :).

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Victors Productions

A home for the past, present and future projects for Victor Garcia.

Nhan Fiction

"Hope is my catalyst."

Lily Art

Where Imagination Runs Free

The Buttonsmashers

Nerd Culture Beyond Borders

NERDGEIST

Entertainment & Culture

gemsindimes.wordpress.com/

Musings of a stingy, penny-pinching, broke college student who desires to change the world with a glue gun and lipstick one step at a time.

Șic și clasic - "Chic & Classic" luxury fine arts, entirely handcrafted, original design

Cand cumperi arta nu cumperi doar ceea ce vezi si pipai cumperi sufletul unui om, sufletul artistului pentru ca el/ artistul s-a uitat in sufletul lui si a scos de acolo ce a gasit

ReJeana's Place

Crafting and Pinning. Pinning and Crafting

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

kate stull

writing & style watching.

Market Treasures

"Your junk becomes our treasure. We save beautiful vintage and antique jewelry from scrappers."

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

